Why me?

These two tiny words put together, makes a lot of sense. It poses a bigger question than anyone could even imagine. It’s difficult, at least for me, to take a stand on which aspect to write. I will start by stating an excerpt from the conversation between Shri Ramakrishna Paramahansa and Swami Vivekananda. These two people were the greatest spiritual leaders of the modern society. Once Swami Vivekananda asked Shri Ramakrishna – “What surprises you about people?” to which he replied – “When they suffer they ask Why me? but when they prosper, they never ask Why me?”. This answer made me ponder over the nature of humans. People are generally selfish. They don’t care about anything if the situation is favorable to them. On the other hand, if something goes wrong they start blaming whomsoever possible. True character of an individual is revealed only during adversity.

Sometimes even I fall prey to this question. When I am literally down, unmotivated, this question pops up in my mind. Later I realize that I never ask this question when my spirits are high. Rather asking Why me, we should be grateful that HE chose us over so many others. HE chooses us to make us impregnable; to fight our demons and come out victorious. We should gracefully accept whatever comes our way and try to learn from the experiences which we attain. We should thank HIM for putting us in difficult situations since it develops our character and makes us strong. So I feel, rather asking WHY ME? we should ask WHAT FOR?

2 thoughts on “Why me?”

  1. I have a question? If HE is putting us in the difficult situation, then HE can solve the difficult situation. The question is, what is HIS motive? Is it not like mixing sugar with water and then boiling the solution to vaporise the water away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked your analogy but do you think the sugar before and after boiling are the same. It’s impossible to know what HE wants but when we face challenges it definitely builds our character.

    Like

Leave a Reply

